• Home
  • Media Arts & Production

KU students win Kansas Association of Broadcasters awards

Thursday, March 30, 2017

LAWRENCE — University of Kansas students have been named winners in more than a dozen categories from the 2017 Kansas Association of Broadcasters (KAB) Awards.

“We are thrilled with the results in this year's competition,” said Chris Bacon, KUJH-TV executive producer and instructor at the William Allen White School of Journalism & Mass Communications. “It is a testament to the passion and dedication our students exhibit on a daily basis. Their strong showing proves that our students are getting the skills they need and the opportunities to be successful in the broadcasting field.”

Entries included work from spring 2016 and fall 2017, so some of the winners have graduated. Awards will be presented during the KAB Convention on Tuesday, April 4.

Television awards

Station Promotion Announcement

First: Griffin Hughes, The Playmakers Promo

Complete Live Newscast

First:  Madison Coker, Alana Flinn, Jacob Asherman, Nick Couzin, KUJH News (Dec. 7, 2016)

Second: Kayla Schartz, Aungelina Dahm, Travis Calvin, KUJH News (March 4, 2016)

Station Website

First: Alex McLoon, Alana Flinn, KUJH-TV

Hard News Package

First: Emma Hogg, Homicide House Fire

Enterprise News Package

First: Hank Cavagnaro, Bike Safety

Second: Marissa Khalil, Housing Debt

Complete News Feature

First: Emma Hogg, Bob Brings Joy

Complete Sports Feature

Second: Nicole Feyh, The Cole Hayden Story


Second: Alex McLoon, KUJH Sports (Feb. 29, 2016)

Sports Play-by-Play

Honorable mention: Griffin Hughes, Shep Jones, Dallas Milligan, Fulton Caster, KUJH High School Showcase

Radio Awards

Enterprise News Package

First: Sam Davis, Pressure

Second: Jordan Winter, Lucid Dreaming

Honorable mention: Flammy Huo, Being Mortal

Complete News Feature

First: Flammy Huo, Body Worlds

Second: Chad Onianwa, Media Literacy with Joseph Erba

Sports Play by Play

Second: Derek Johnson, Nick Lewis, Kansas vs. West Virginia: Big 12 Tournament

Station Website

Second: Mason Kilpatrick, Erick Oduniyi, Cody Boston, Doug Bybee, KJHK Staff, KJHK.org.

Become a Jayhawk - Apply Today