Programming and Workshops

Richard C. Clarkson Gallery | All times 1-2 p.m, unless noted

Fall 2016

Wednesday, Sept. 7
Career and Outreach Connection for Freshmen

  • Things to be doing in Year One
  • Resume and cover letter development
  • What’s available on J-School Career Website
  • Social media presence
  • Jobs on campus and in the area
  • Words matter
  • Q&A

 

Wednesday, Sept. 14
Career and Outreach Connection for Sophomores

  • Things to be doing in Year Two
  • Resume and cover letter development
  • What’s available on J-School Career Website
  • Jobs on campus and in the area
  • Making the most of your internship experience
  • Interview etiquette and prep
  • Words matter
  • Q&A

 

Wednesday, Sept. 21
Career and Outreach Connection for Juniors

  • Things to be doing in Year Three
  • Resume and cover letter development
  • What’s available on J-School Career Website
  • Making the most of your internship experience
  • Interview etiquette and prep
  • Words matter
  • Q&A

 

Wednesday, Sept. 28
Career and Outreach Connection for Seniors

  • Things to be doing your final year
  • Resume and cover letter development
  • Making the most of your internship experience
  • Interview etiquette and prep
  • Starting job search
  • Words matter
  • Evaluating salaries and job offers
  • Q&A

 

Thursday, Oct 13 (4 p.m.)
Power Up, Keep Calm and Keep Connected

  • JTech and Career and Outreach Office discuss online portfolios, LinkedIn profiles and resumes

 

Wednesday, Oct. 19
Career Fair Workshop and Networking

  • How to make the most of your Career Fair experience
  • Connecting with professionals at J-School Generations

 

Tuesday, Nov. 1
Career Fair

10 a.m. - 3 p.m., Kansas Room, Kansas Union

 

Wednesday, Nov. 16
Networking That Works

  • Connecting with professionals and making your breaks
  • Thinking short term and long
  • Phone/Skype interview tips

 

Spring 2017 

 

Thursday, Feb. 9 (4 p.m.)
Power Up, Keep Calm and Keep Connected

  • JTech and Career and Outreach Office partner on portfolios, LinkedIn and resumes

 

Wednesday, Feb. 22
Career Fair Workshop

  • How to make the most of your career fair experience

 

Wednesday, March 8
Career Fair

10 a.m. - 3 p.m., Kansas Room, Kansas Union

 

Wednesday, March 15
Social Media and Your Job search

  • How to use LinkedIn and social media
  • Job search tips

 

Wednesday, April 12
Resume and cover letter ethics

  • Make yourself a strong candidate without crossing deceptive ethical line

Jobs Listings