• Home
  • Journalism Minor

Susanne Shaw

Professor / Accrediting Council Director, ACEJMC
Primary office:
Stauffer-Flint Hall
Room 109
University of Kansas
1435 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045-7515


Shaw teaches Research and Writing and participates in outreach programs such as the honors tutorial for Templin Scholars. She is the executive director of the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications, the agency responsible for the evaluation of professional journalism and mass communications programs in U.S. colleges and universities. The J-School provides office space to the Council.

She admits she's a frequent traveler, but Shaw always takes the time to advise her students, often helping them with resumes and job searches. She is the advisor for KU athletes and Mount Oread Scholars pursuing degrees in journalism.

Shaw started teaching at KU more than 30 years ago. Over the years, she has taken two leaves of absence, once to work as associate editor of the Tallahassee Democrat and once to work as editor and publisher of the Coffeyville Journal. She has served as news advisor and general manager of the University Daily Kansan, as the J-School's graduate director and twice as associate dean of the School.

She is a past Executive Director of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication, the national organization for journalism educators.

Academic Degrees

  • B.S., education, University of Kansas
  • M.S., journalism, University of Kansas


  • Presidential Award, Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communications
  • Al Neuharth Teaching Professorship
  • Del Brinkman Teaching Professorship
  • Lifetime Achievement Award, The Freedom Forum
  • HOPE Award nominee
  • H. Bernerd Fink Award for Distinguished Classroom Teaching








Back to faculty

Become a Jayhawk - Apply Today