• Home
  • Media Arts & Production

Journalism students win Kansas Association of Broadcasting awards

Tuesday, March 13, 2018

University of Kansas journalism students won three events in the television category and two events in the radio category at the 2018 Kansas Association of Broadcasters competition. The first-place recipients will receive their awards on April 3 at Kansas State University.

Top finishers for KU in TV were:

  • Enterprise news package, “The Carillonist,” Grant Stephens
  • Complete news feature, “Joe’s Journey,” Jackson Kurtz
  • Station website, KUJH News, Illana KarpAlana Flinn and Dan Garrett

Top finishers for KU in radio were the following:

  • Complete news feature, “Museum of the Odd,” Christian Hardy
  • Sports play-by-play, KU men’s basketball v. Kansas State Jan. 13, Jackson SchneiderMarco Marquez

Also in the TV category, the KU team of Mallory Houser and Courtney Gehrke placed second in complete newscast for KUJH News, Dec. 6, 2017. Lauren Davidson received honorable mention in hard news package, “Racism leads to firing Burger King manager.”

Other KU placers in the radio category were Garrett Mould, second in complete news feature, “Bitcoin and the Future of Currency (with Andreas Antonopolous)”; and Paul KlineJean-Jacques Corbier and Ellie Fehlig, second in station website. Jordan Winter received honorable mention in complete news feature for “D.A.R.E. Does It Work?”

Become a Jayhawk - Apply Today